Sport NB announces Konica Minolta Sport Awards finalists

Written by  Wednesday, 24 October 2018 18:18

Fredericton, NB - Athletes who have represented New Brunswick throughout the world, coaches who have invested time and effort, and individuals who have volunteered countless hours, corporate supporters and outstanding members of the media were highlighted today, as Sport New Brunswick announced the names of the finalists for the annual Konica Minolta Sport Awards.

The Konica Minolta Sport Awards recognize the accomplishments of New Brunswick’s top athletes, teams, coaches, officials, and volunteers in amateur sport over the past year.   “New Brunswick can be very proud off all the people who were nominated,” said McKillop. “These are the types of people who inspire others to be great, and help see the value in sport participation. New Brunswickers can be very proud of these individuals”.

Nominations were submitted by a number of different organizations from throughout the Province. Finalists were selected based on their achievements from September 1, 2017 to September 30, 2018.  Konica Minolta’s support, as well as the other corporate sponsors - the Westmont Hospitality Group, Boston Pizza, BrunNet, Teed Saunders Doyle & Co, IG Wealth Management and Taylor Printing Group make these awards possible year after year. This year’s awards dinner and ceremony will be held at the in Dieppe at the Wingate by Wyndham Hotel on November 24th.  Tickets are available by calling Sport NB at (506)451-1320.

The finalists were announced in six of the twelve categories. They are:

Westmont Hospitality Group Female Athlete of the Year

Charlie Cavanagh, Saint John, Boxing

Geneviève Lalonde, Moncton, Athletics

Courtney Sarault, Moncton, Speed Skating – Short Track


Westmont Hospitality Group Male Athlete of the Year

Brendan Corey, Fredericton, Speed Skating – Short Track

Bernard LaPointe, Moncton, Para-Badminton

Christopher Robertson, Moncton, Athletics


Boston Pizza Female Coach of the Year

Michelle DeCourcey, Fredericton, Soccer

Julia Loparco, Saint John, Athletics

Alana Nicklin, Fredericton, Ringette


Boston Pizza Male Coach of the Year

Joe Blanchard, Saint John, Boxing

Daniel McHardie, Fredericton, Soccer

Peter Stuart, Riverview, Athletics


President’s Award - Female Athlete

Jasmine Thebeau, Rexton, Wrestling

Erin Vringer, Saint John, Athletics


President’s Award – Male Athlete

Jacob LeBlanc, Moncton, Para-Athletics

Patrick Talbot, Quispamsis, Artistic Gymnastics



The following awards will also be presented to the recipients listed below at the Konica Minolta Sport Awards:

Taylor Printing Group Official of the Year

Judy Astle, Boiestown, Golf


IG Wealth Management Lifetime Volunteer Achievement Award

Tim Hayes, Saint John, Boxing


BrunNet Team of the Year

Metro Junior Mudcats, Baseball


Teed Saunders Doyle & Co Spirit of Sport

Doug Barrett, Rothesay, Triathlon

Annick Leger, Dieppe, Athletics


Volunteer Sport Administrator Award

Katinka Postma, Saint John, Water Polo


Outstanding Media Coverage

Brad Janes, NB Hoops Report


Sport NB is a non-profit bilingual federation. We advocate sport for all, from the grassroots level to high performance, and provide programs and services for all our members.


For more information contact Hillary Pineau at 451-1320 or  Follow us on Twitter @SportNB or Facebook Sport New-Nouveau Brunswick